The Order of Saint Gregory

The Pontifical Equestrian Order of Saint Gregory the Great was founded by Pope Gregory XVI on 1 September 1831.

Awards of the Order are usually made on the recommendation of a Diocesan Bishops for specific services. Membership of the Order of Saint Gregory does not impose any special obligations. It is thus the preferred award to acknowledge an individual's particular meritorious service to the Church. A Bishop wishing to recommend an individual for this honor will a draw up a suitable letter proposing the candidates name, with a list of the services for the Church and forward it with his recommendation to the Apostolic Nuncio. The Nuncio may consult with the Bishop regarding the person and will then forward the recommendation to the Secretariat of State. There the candidate's name is considered carefully and, if approved, a Diploma is drawn up in Latin (and the candidates forenames are translated into Latin) and this receives the signature and seal of the Cardinal Secretary of State. It is then presented to the recipient by their Diocesan Bishop. In 1994 Women were permitted to receive The Papal Order of St. Gregory the Great.

2010:       Mr. Joseph Dow

                 Mr. Salim Joubran

                 Dr. Karl Morrow

                 Mrs. Bassira Mouawad

2011:       Mr. Nijad I. Fares